[AZW] ↠ The Money Bird | By ✓ Sheila Webster Boneham #2020


  • Title: The Money Bird
  • Author: Sheila Webster Boneham
  • ISBN: 9780738734873
  • Page: 419
  • Format: Paperback

  • The Money Bird By Sheila Webster Boneham Animal photographer Janet MacPhail knows that trouble is in the air when Labrador Retriever Drake fetches a blood soaked bag holding an exotic feather and a torn one hundred dollar bill during a photo shoot at Twisted Lake One of Janet s photography students reports seeing a strange bird at the lake, but he turns up dead before Janet can talk to him When she learns thatAnimal photographer Janet MacPhail knows that trouble is in the air when Labrador Retriever Drake fetches a blood soaked bag holding an exotic feather and a torn one hundred dollar bill during a photo shoot at Twisted Lake One of Janet s photography students reports seeing a strange bird at the lake, but he turns up dead before Janet can talk to him When she learns that the mysterious retreat center near the lake is housing large numbers of tropical birds, Janet is sure there s a connection and decides to investigate between dog training classes, photo assignments, and visits to her mom at Shadetree Retirement With help from her Australian Shepherd Jay and her quirky friend Goldie, Janet is determined to get to the bottom of things before another victim s wings are clipped for good.Praise for Drop Dead on Recall Drop dead good Carole Nelson Douglas, bestselling author of the Midnight Louie Mysteries First place with a perfect score Susan Conant, author of the Dog Lovers Mystery series A smart first mystery Fans of Laurien Berenson or Susan Conant will especially enjoy this pet centered mystery Booklist Boneham s debut will delight dog fanciers Kirkus Reviews Boneham packs a punch in her series debut RT Book Reviews
    Sheila Webster Boneham
    Sheila Webster Boneham writes fiction and nonfiction, much of it focused on animals, nature, and travel She doesn t like to be labeled just as she reads across genres, Sheila also writes across genres She is currently working on a novel, a series of short stories, a series of essays about traveling the U.S by train, and a book length meditation on the human canine connection Sheila teaches writing workshops and classes, and often speaks about writing, creativity, and related topics.Sheila s debut mystery novel, Drop Dead on Recall was named on the Top Ten Dog Books of 2012 by NBC Petside The sequel, The Money Bird, was released in 2013, and Catwalk is scheduled for September 2014 Sheila holds a Masters of Fine Arts MFA in Creative Writing from the Stonecoast MFA Program University of Southern Maine, and a Ph.D degree in folklore from Indiana University She has taught writing, folklore, and literature at universities in the U.S and the Middle East She is a member of the Associated Writing Programs, the North Carolina Writers Network, and several other professional organizations.Sheila and her husband and dogs have enjoyed getting to know different parts of the U.S over the past few years They currently live in Wilmington, North Carolina.

    The Money Bird By Sheila Webster Boneham

    Commentaires:

    Kim Reads (Read Your Writes Book Reviews)
    Reviewed by Kimfor Read Your Writes Book ReviewsThis is my first animal related cozy mystery I loved how Sheila was able to mix in her love of Australian Shepherds, Labrador Retrievers, animal training and sports into the story THE MONEY BIRD is the second book in Sheila Webster Boneham s An Animal in Focus Mystery Series and is completely standalone The story is told from the point of view of Janet MacPhail, an animal photographer and an animal lover THE MONEY BIRD starts out with Janet and her [...]

    Tracy Weber
    A mystery romp so fun it will sneak up and bite you in the rear If you want to get that joke, you ll have to read the book The tone is lighthearted, the descriptions so vivid I could feel myself in each scene, and the subject matter of illegal bird smuggling is topical and covered compassionately Add in great dog scenes, loveable characters, and a wee touch of romance, and you can t go wrong Second in a series that I hope continues for a very long time.

    Terri
    Probably classified as a cozy mystery, this story has depth in plot, characters and writing that the cozies While it does have a theme, dog lover that does not overwhelm the story, nor is that fact pushed to the forefront with cute puns all through the book Not a heavy read, but an enjoyable one I liked the characters, the plot and the dogs.

    Rhonda
    4 STARSThe Money Bird made me think I want a puppy Then looked around at my two sleeping dogs in my bed and thought again Their dogs are so well trained of course they go to train them once a week or so The animals are a big cute part of the book Janet MacPhail is a animal photographer She owns a Australian Shepherd named Jay and a orange tabby Leo She is dating Tom She is very caring and curious Janet s mom is in a nursing home and a lot of the time does not know who she is Or does and wants to [...]

    LORI CASWELL
    Janet MacPhail, is a photographer that sees much through the lens than just her subjects Trouble just seems to follow her On a simple trip to Twisted Lake to take some pictures of Labrador Retriever Drake she is very surprised when he fetches a blood soaked bag holding an exotic feather and a torn one hundred dollar bill instead of his usual decoy Then one of her photography students is found dead after calling Janet about seeing a strange bird at the lake Add to this a mysterious retreat cente [...]

    Lis Carey
    Janet McPhail, photographer and serious dog enthusiast, is back, along with her Australian shepherd Jay, her ex flower child friend Goldie, and hunky botanist and Labrador retriever owner Tom, as well as the rest of the Fort Wayne dog sports community.Janet, Tom, and their dogs are out at a privately owned parkland popular for training and exercising retrievers when Tom s Lab, Drake, abruptly abandons the exercise, leaps into the river, and returns from a small island with a blood soaked canvass [...]

    Nancy
    Photographer Janet MacPhail is back for her second Animals in Focus mystery, along with Jay, her Australian Shepherd, and Leo, her cat It is actually Drake, her boyfriend Tom s black Labrador Retriever, who sets this mystery in motion During hunting trails at Twisted Lake, near Ft Wayne, Indiana, Tom hopes that Drake has retrieved the money bird the last bird the winning dog retrieves earning a cash prize , but instead Drake finds a strange canvas bag with some exotic feathers and perhaps a hint [...]

    Kate Eileen Shannon
    Janet MacPail is a photographer and her boyfriend Tom Saunders is an ethnobotanist and they are both dog lovers and owners Tom with his black lab Drake and Janet with her Australian shepherd Jay and cat Leo They are out with the dogs when Drake discovers a blood soaked canvas bag containing a rather exotic red feather Janet is convinced there is something amiss and that sets them off on a trail of discovery about the import of illegal exotic pets, in particular rare tropical birds It all seems c [...]

    Jeanie Jackson
    Excellent I am so glad that I discovered Sheila Boneham s books a while back her writing is amazing I hate to call her books cozy because for many people that term means so much less than what this series brings The characters are well developed people with real emotions and problems even beyond the strong mysteries.In the Money Bird Janet is photographing a retriever training session when Tom s dog makes a odd discovery Nothing too big but the hint of blood catches Janet s attention even though [...]

    Kim
    I very much enjoyed the other book of hers, Drop On Recall much This one was okay, but one thing in it really bothered me The book deals with the illegal trade in exotic birds All throughout the book the author refers to how the main character is sickened by the very thought of what the animals go through and can t even discuss it or think about it at any length Yet the very title of the book is Money Bird, a term used in reference to hunting trials where birds are killed in sport for the dogs [...]

    Melina
    This was a very good read If you love dogs, then this is a book for you Janet has an Aussie named Jay and her boyfriend, Tom, has a Black Lab named Drake I learned a lot about dog training from this book and I also learned a lot about exotic birds Janet and Tom end up having to solve a crime centered around the smuggling of exotic birds This cozy had humor in it also, Janet was somewhat of a smart aleck at times, but still likable Great job Sheila I thoroughly enjoyed this read.I received a comp [...]

    Lois
    Set in Fort Wayne, Indiana, the main characters are Janet MacPhail, a professional photographer that specializes in animals, and the man she is seeing, an anthropology professor Their dogs play a significant role in the story, as peculiar things are happening near where the local Hunting Retriever Club practices, including a mysterious death Well plotted story and a realistic portrayal of the animals involved Recommended.

    Carrie
    I kind of wish I could have my time back It was well written enough with an ok plot, but if you have ever read mystery or suspense it isneasy to piece together I have read animal focused books before, but this one had of a old cat lady feel to it Even though the main character has a boyfriend, she seems happier sleeping with her dog I am glad to return this book to the shelves.

    Charlene
    I loved the main protagonist, Janet MacPhail She was reminiscent ofJanet Evanovich s Stephanie Plum series, but a little older and wiser.

    Jen
    Another clever, well rounded, great read

    Ann
    Janet and her dog, Jay, are back and investigating some strange goings on Exotic bird smuggling , and a shady preacher make a great murder mystery.

    Lori Walker
    I blew right through this book, and I kind of wish I had taken my time because it is going to be a while until the next one I find myself caring about even the peripheral characters in this series.

    Lynn
    Enjoyable mystery dog read Will look for her next book.

    Andrea Guy
    Review to follow on 9 20 for Great Escapes Book Tours

    Amy
    This got so ridiculous at the end321 p.

    Joan Skinner
    Loved this book But since I own Australian Shepherds and show them I have an inside track on some of the happenings Fast moving story and good characters kept my interest throughout

    • [AZW] ↠ The Money Bird | By ✓ Sheila Webster Boneham
      419 Sheila Webster Boneham
    • thumbnail Title: [AZW] ↠ The Money Bird | By ✓ Sheila Webster Boneham
      Posted by:Sheila Webster Boneham
      Published :2019-08-06T15:30:25+00:00